Connect with us


Kundalini Yoga Benefits and Poses for Mind and Body

Yoga Journal describes Kundalini yoga as “An uplifting blend of spiritual and physical practices”, incorporating movement, dynamic breathing techniques, meditation and the chanting of mantras.

What is Kundalini yoga good for? The purpose of the practice is to help support both the mind and body, specifically by targeting the nervous system. According to Kundalini teachers and practitioners, a regular practice, even if it’s just for several minutes per day, can help create greater inner peace, promote relaxation, and increase life satisfaction through meaningful relationships, work, and creative outlets.

What Is Kundalini Yoga?



 Kundalini yoga is an ancient practice that mixes asanas (yoga poses), mantras, mudras, meditations, and breathwork. There are many various sorts of yoga supported various lineages over thousands of years. because the Gaia website describes it, “Kundalini Yoga may be a blend of Bhakti Yoga (the yogic practice of devotion and chanting), Raja Yoga (the practice of mediation/mental and physical control) and Shakti Yoga (for the expression of power and energy).”

 It’s not exactly known how Kundalini Yoga originated, but records show that Kundalini was mentioned within the Upanishads, a sacred Vedic collection of writings dating back to 1,000 B.C. The Kundalini yoga that’s taught today was developed by Yogi Bhajan who based the practice on a 5,000-year-old authentic system of yoga exercises and meditation.

 The word “Kundalini” literally means “the curl of the hair of the beloved.” Kundalini yoga gets its name from the Sanskrit word kundal, which suggests “circular.” Kundal is assumed to represent a coiled snake that lives in your spine and acts sort of a spiritual energy or vital force. Coiled energy is claimed to represent the creative potential of a private. Practicing Kundalini yoga is meant to “arouse the sleeping Kundalini Shakti from its coiled base” through six chakras, or channels of energy, that reside along the spine. 

Kundalini practices/sequences are called kriyas. Kriyas and meditation have the aim of accelerating body awareness and preparing the body, systema nervosum and mind to handle a positive shift in energy (sometimes described as “Kundalini rising”). Kundalini yoga poses mostly specialize in the navel and spine, which are focal points of energy, also called meridians. Other practices that help shift one’s energy include breath work (pranayama) and therefore the application of yogic locks of energy (bandhas). 

A “Kundalini awakening” is employed to explain a breakthrough that somebody can have from their practice. A Kundalini breakthrough is claimed to end in maximum creative potential, freedom from negative Karma (the lasting effects of past actions) and a realization of one’s life purpose. What are the symptoms of kundalini awakening?

Open next page to continue reading



Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *